1. Select Seats

2. Review and Proceed

COUNTDOWN TO EVENT!

Days
hours
minutes
Seconds

REGISTRATION

Sale ended

Webinar Registration Partial Approval - Free

Enter your discount code

  • Fee
  • Total amount

Event Information

Multiple Dates

About the Event

Fishing for Data Webinar schedule and program:


- the first time slot is: 10:00am CEST (04:00 EST, 20:00 NZST) - link to the webmeeting

- the second time slot is: 19:00 CEST (13:00 EST, 05:00 NZST) - link to the webmeeting

 

 

The webinar is organized 30 minutes presentation followed by 30 minutes of Q&A and will discuss about:

 

- Background, solving problems for fishing industry, fisheries science, and now oceanography

- Technical basis: behavior of fishing gears, new developments, in compact IoT sensors

- Potential to fill spatial observation coverage gaps, and complement existing platforms

- EMODnet on data standards and data flow

- Developments beyond TS profiles and future directions

- Questions & Answers, including panelists from the FOOS and eMOLT programs, which are the first programs, that are running today, to collect data in collaboration with fishing vessels.

 

Background:

Commercial fishing gear such as bottom trawls, pots, traps and long lines can act as platform for oceanographic sensors, which measure physical oceanographic data during normal fishing operations. The lack of ocean data in coastal and shelf-seas holds back operational oceanography, weather forecasting, maritime industries, and climate change monitoring. This same data can benefit fishing operations and fisheries management. We quantify and compare the existing sub-surface data coverage with the spatial distribution of fishing activities, showing that integration with fishing could fill in some of the most pressing gaps in existing ocean observation systems in coastal and shelf-seas. An emerging network of international scientific and industry programs are collecting oceanographic data with fishing gears. Berring Data Collective is an initiative working with EMODnet Physics to promote communication and data standardization between existing programs, and centralized distribution pathways. Progress and future plans on data flows and management are showcased.

 

For any further details please contact us: cooper@berringdatacollective.com

About the Organizer